Find daycare providers, from New York to San FransiscoFind daycare or childcare providers in Canada
Schedule
Mon. 07:30am - 05:30pm
Tue. 07:30am - 05:30pm
Wed. 07:30am - 05:30pm
Thu. 07:30am - 05:30pm
Fri. 07:30am - 05:30pm

Sat. Closed
Sun. Closed
Features
Backyard
Playground
Residential neighborhood
Central A/C
Full kitchen
Educational program
Experienced with children with special needs
Financial subsidies available
Government accreditation (license)
References available upon request
Services available at night
Services available in English
Services available in Spanish
Services available on weekends
Services available part-time
Temporary care available
Children cared for 6
Number of employees 1
Location
(Approximate location)
Listing Reviews

Little Friends Daycare

Family / home daycare

Not available,
Greensburg, 67054
Kansas, USA
Tammy Wolfley
Email: not available
Tel.: not available
Website
not available

Our family

Our children

Daycare play area

Daycare play area

Current openings,
available spaces

Nb. of openings Age group Starting Daily rate
No available spaces / openings at this time !

Description

Operating hours are somewhat flexible.

-I was accepted and participated in the Infant/Toddler EXCEL Project, Keeping Kansas Kids Healthy in 2008/2009 A program by the Family Conservancy funded by the state that is a wealth of information, included free Infant/Toddler training for me, home visits and helped me to greatly improve my childcare program. I also recieved a grant in which we did some great backyard improvements and added more play area and a large sand box!!

-I also participated in the year long project called Strengthening Families for the year 2012-2013, which taught me to be a better help and service to my families and to include them more in the childcare setting and help to get them more involved. I also learned how to use the ASQ and ASQ-SE Questionnaires commonly used by Parents As Teachers and have incorporated their use into my program, (for use when their might be concerns) to help make sure children are on the right track for their social, emotional, physical, and mental development! I attended a training last year in May 2016 in Wichita with the Iroquois Center for Human Development to learn more about the ASQ and get updated information. They have new forms now.

-I have worked as a Certified Nurses Aid for a total of 2 years and also have 3 ˝ years of college education with an emphasis on Business and Graphic Design. I have also worked as a live-in nanny in North NJ for 3 1/2 years.

-I am certified in adult, child and infant CPR and First Aid. I have over 20 years experience with children of all ages. I have had my own licensed in-home daycare for 11 years. My training as a Certified Nurses Aid and jobs in college working with people with different disabilities doing in-home care combined with my childcare experience, has provided me with a background in working with people of all ages and abilities. I also earned and was awarded a CDA (Child Development Associate) credential in December 2011. (Due to our busier life through adoption I did not have time to renew the CDA after 3 years.) I am currently working on renewing that soon thanks to a renewal amnesty!

-I'm also currently a mom to 5 children ages 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13. I have taught the Sunday School preschool and K-2nd classes in different churches, and currently teach the preschool Sunday School class at First Baptist Church of Greensburg.

-My daycare is a relaxed home environment. I provide educational opportunities through games and play, arts and crafts, music, exploring the environment and reading. I believe learning should be fun and enjoyable for young children! Each child is allowed to participate and learn at his or her own pace. My goal is that children enjoy learning! I often do in-home preschool activities with the children in the daycare. We enjoy learning letters, numbers, shapes, and colors, singing songs, dancing, playing games, discovering the outdoors, and exploring the world around us. I've even assisted several kids in learning to tie their shoes before starting kindergarten. We also have 2 cats, and 2 dogs. All animals have a safe place to be kept away from the kids. Music and reading are part of our day every day. We will enjoy playing outdoors all year long, as weather permits. Indoor and outdoor projects are planned for the children. We have fun with little experiments, catching bugs, watching caterpillars become butterflies, and in previous years planting and picking from a mini garden, a blueberry bush, blackberry bush, strawberry plants, and flowers. We also do indoor cooking projects. I have a high level of patience and understanding, as I know “kids will be kids” and that making mistakes and being mischievous is a HUGE part of their growth and learning.

-I recognize the importance of the bond a child and his or her family has with their caregiver, and work to ensure that our relationship is an honest and open one. I also participate in the food program. I am experienced in helping children learn to use the potty, and this is provided as a part of the overall program.

-My family is a Christian family and I try to carry over how I would act in a normal day with my family into my childcare. Therefore, our daycare also says grace before meals, and we also read books about the true meaning of Christmas and Easter. I also discuss other religions and the different traditions with the children, as I will not exclude anyone or make them feel different.

-I have a large 3 ring binder available to be viewed in my home that tells much about my daycare including photos. This notebook was put together when I was nominated for Childcare Provider of the Year. I was awarded the 2013 Childcare Provider of the Year for Kansas in April 2013 through Child Care Providers Coalition. I also wrote an article that was published in the Kansas Child Magazine, the article was titled "It Takes a Village". (There is a copy of that magazine in the binder.)

-Since March 2013, my husband and I have taken the classes/trainings and gone through the whole process to be approved and obtain an exception to my daycare license to also do respite care for foster children. Update: We closed this exception to the daycare license in February 2015 because we were in the process of adopting 3 children. As of April 6, 2015 we finalized on the adoption of our now 13 yr old son, 12 yr old son, and 10 yr old daughter.


-Any of the parents currently using my daycare would be happy to be available for you to contact as a reference. I know parents from the past would also be glad to give you references. I have other references available for your use also, and encourage parents in contacting them.


-This is something new the state of KS does. You can search for child cares and see what their yearly inspection results are. They list the non-compliant findings by the state surveyor. I did a search for my own childcare and copied and pasted the link here. You can click on "View Findings" and see what has been non-compliant in my yearly unannounced state inspections. For example, I had a yearly renewal unannounced inspection on July 22, 2015. I didn't have my newly adopted daughter's most recent copy of immunizations in my daycare files, but they were in my home, and I have 2 toddlers that recently got Hep A shots, and I had not gotten the updated copies from a few moms with little ones that recently got new shots. That's the findings that will show up for this year once they post them. (All I did was scan and e-mail them to her the next day!) It will read something like, Non-compliant for 3/10 kids for the updated immunization records and list the law that states it's required.

This is the link: https://kscapportalp.dcf.ks.gov/oids/Comp_details.aspx?fid=114271

I also have my previous years findings on file. I am in my 12th year of in-home childcare.
Admission conditions
Must not be allergic to cats or dogs.


Listing's statistics

Last listing update: 2018-10-05 18:20:39
 
Seniority
Information
quality
Information
reliability
93% 40%
Previous daycare / childcare providerNext daycare / childcare provider

A few tips...

Always ensure that your child receives quality care by taking the time to investigate the provider and by asking for references! We simply cannot verify the claims of every daycare provider.
Updates
We rely on providers to keep their listing and current openings up-to-date. To prevent any omission, openings expire after 45 days.
Partner in your
search for a daycare provider